Quran For All

Official Blog of www.farhathashmi.com

O Bearer of The Qur’an: Do You Act Upon It?

Posted by Admin on May 18, 2009

Bismillah

Author: Sadaf Farooqi

I get amused to read the occasional newspaper article describing the chagrin felt by well-established members of society at how more and more educated Pakistani women are adopting the Islamic dress code, or hijab. Whether by spotting a university bus full of black-abaya-clad students, or attending a hotel conference dominated by a significant proportion of women in hijab, some people are definitely not too happy about witnessing this growing phenomenon of women willingly covering themselves up before men.

The reason behind this heartening or disconcerting – whichever way you see it – trend, is undoubtedly the upsurge of regular Quran classes among the country’s educated women’s circles. Gone are the days when the Quran was opened only on deaths of relatives, or to be recited without comprehension on other occasions for the sole purpose of gaining blessings. Now, commendable efforts are being made to understand its meanings and ponder on its deeper message.

quran-closeup-

Allah’s Messenger [صلى الله عليه و سلم] said: “The best of you are those who learn the Quran and teach it.”

[Sahih Al-Bukhari: 5027]

As a result, any random “aunty” you’d meet at a wedding, grocery store or tailor’s shop will tell you that she attends such-and-such Quran class. Most of these classes, usually comprising tajweed, translation, and tafsir, among other subjects, are held in people’s homes. 

Although studying the Quran is highly praiseworthy, the fact remains that the basic purpose behind gaining knowledge of it is to act upon it; to mould oneself according to its commands; to change ourselves to how Allah wants us to be. The Quran should, in short, have a visibly profound effect on a person’s character, conduct, demeanor, and overall dealings with people. This usually takes some time – perhaps by going through the Quran in-depth a few times – but nevertheless, the Quran should have its intended effect eventually; one that is openly visible.

It should be a cause for concern if a person has been teaching or studying the Quran for several years, for example, by attending duroos or classes, but finds it difficult to act upon it, or to submit to its commands at the level of ihsaan (superlative degree). Teaching the Book of Allah – whether conducting a tajweed class, translation review, or tafsir – is the best ‘professional occupation’ in the world, so to speak. It comes with the added responsibility of embodying epitomic Muslim behavior and upright Islamic character. Of course, no one other than Allah can grant a person this level of action.

The Companions of the Prophet [صلى الله عليه و سلم] would not learn a new ayah, until they had incorporated the ones they already had studied, completely into their actions. As for us, we might claim that we are full-time “workers of Allah”, or “da’ee’s” dedicated to serving the Quran, but how much have our actions and character changed according to it?

Ask yourself some key questions:

  • Why is it that my prayers are different before people, as compared to when I am alone?
  • Why do I need to be woken up by someone else for Fajr?
  • Would I confidently recite the Quran to a Qari/shaikh, or would it cause me shame, as I still make too many mistakes?
  • Why do I wear an abaya to my Quran class but not to a wedding, the market or a family outing?
  • Why do I cover my face from one man at the Quran class venue but leave it unveiled in public places when I am out with my family?
  • Do I still desire and buy clothes, jewelry and interior decorations with the same frequency and zeal as I did before studying the Quran?
  • When buying something, do I focus on the label or the thing itself?
  • Is there any activity in my life that is not in the Sunnah, or is a gross imitation of the cultures of non-believers?
  • Why do I still call up my friend/sister/mother/cousin to gossip when I’m bored?
  • Do I hang out with/befriend people on the basis of their level of taqwa, or their standard of living?
  • Do I at least try to pray tahajjud in any month besides Ramadan?
  • How do I react when someone points out my weaknesses?
  • What thoughts occupy my mind when I am alone?

Muslims involved in Quran education, Sunnah propagation and da’wah, have a greater responsibility to act upon what they are preaching, and to cleanse their hearts from diseases of the self (nafs) and desires of this world. So renew your intention today, and ask Allah to help you submit to every command of the Quran at the degree of ihsaan.

Leave a Reply

 
